Top Connect

3 crorepati MPs and 16 MLAs fail to file Income Tax Return

ADR seeks IT probe against crorepati MP and MLAs
1397% increase in assets of BJP MLA Divyaraj Singh
Satna MP Ganesh Singh assets rise by 413%
BHOPAL: Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) has written letter to income tax commissioner to take action against Member of Parliament and Member of Legislative Assembly who show exorbitant raise in their property and did not file income tax returns in their affidavits. ADR has also urged the IT department to inquire into the financial details provided by candidates through affidavits, so that the details can be verified.

ADR delegation has also shared the details of MPs and MLAs who have faulted in declaring their incomes tax returns besides showing exorbitant raise in their assets. According to ADR, 3 crorepati MPs and 16 crorepati MLAs did not declare Income tax return.  Moreover properties of 9 re-elected MPs have grown up to 1000%.

ADR in its letter has stated that several candidates do not provide details of their PAN cards despite owning properties in crores. These contestants also do not provide ITR (income tax return). IT department should probe the candidates who show manifold rise or fall in assets in their affidavits. ADR has categorically reminded IT department that providing wrong or incomplete information in affidavit may lead to disqualification of the contestant.

Crorepati MPs who have not filed their ITRs
According to ADR three MPs, all from BJP, have not filed their income tax returns in affidavits. Bodh Singh Bhagat representing Balaghat is having assets of about Rs 2.5 crores but did not filed ITR. Similarly, Gyan Singh of Shahdol and Janardan Mishra of Rewa too did not filed their ITRs but they own assets of more than Rs 1 crore each.

Two MLAs, one from the BJP and one from Congress have not given their PAN card details. Suneeta Patel of Congress representing Gadarwara owns assets worth Rs 6.13 crore but not mentioned PAN details in the affidavit. Similarly, Umakant Sharma of BJP from Sironj has assets of Rs 16.4 lakhs but didn’t provide PAN card details.
Satna MP Ganesh Singh assets rise by 413%
Assets of nine re-elected MPs were analysed by ADR in which assets of BJP MP from Satna Ganesh Singh showed steep rise by 413%. Singh had showed Rs 73 lakhs assets in 2009 Lok Sabha elections that grew to Rs 3.78 crores in 2009. BJP MP from Betul, Jyoti Dhurve assets grew by 268%, Virendra Kumar from Tikamgarh grew by 244%, Uday Pratap Singh by 234%, Narendra Singh Tomar by 230%, Rakesh Singh by 188%, Sushma Swaraj by 139%, Sumitra Mahajan by 135% and Congress MP Jyotiraditya Scindia’s assets grew by 122%.

Crorepati MLAs who have not filed ITRs
Congress : Suneeta Patel from Gadarwara, Suneel Kumar from Kotma, Brajendra Singh Yadav from Mungaoli, Babulal of Sheopur, Gyarsilal Rawat of Sendhwa, Kalawati Bhuria of Jobat, Omkar Singh Markam from Dindori, Banvarilal Sharma from Jaura, Baijanth Kushwah from Sabalgarh, Pradyumna Singh from Malhara. From BJP: Prem Singh from Barwani, Gopilal Jatav from Guna, Meena Singh from Manpur, Raghunath Singh from Ashtha, Deosingh Saiyam from Mandla  have not filed ITRs

Increase in assets of 86 re-elected MLAs
Highest 1397% increase in assets of BJP MLA Divyaraj Singh
In comparative analysis of re-elected MLAs, highest 1397% increase in assets was seen in BJP MLA from Sirmour Divyaraj Singh. His assets grew from Rs 4.16 crore in 2013 to Rs 62.28 crore in 2018. Assets of Sudesh Rai and Bhupendra assets grew by more than 500%. Narayan Tripathi grew by 473% while Usha Thakur assets show raise by 429%. Bharat Singh Kushwah assets grew by 396%.Leader of Opposition Gopal Bhargava assets grew by 262% while Mahesh Rai grew with 243% and Ashish Govind Sharma by 245%.

Latest News

Top Trending